Frameless Heads on Nameless Walls

His real name is Vincent. Vincent Edward “Bo” Jackson. Being from Alabama, he loves hunting, especially for deer. That shows in the description he gives of himself in a recent article in the Baltimore Sun. “God blessed me with speed like a spooked deer,” Jackson says, “He blessed me with an arm as if somebody tied a rifle to my shoulder.”

Bo vs. FSUAnyone who has ever read his autobiography, Bo Knows Bo, which combines the funniest and scariest stories of growing up poor in Bessemer, Ala., knows Bo isn’t afraid to talk about his physical ability. But in his older age, he has also gained some “perspective.”

Sports has made life so easy for me now. It has helped me get my feet into doors in business to where I’m comfortable…I am a poor black boy from Alabama, raised in a house that I could fit into my living room…

I have business deals thrown my way on almost a weekly basis. That’s what sports has done for me.

I was good for sports, but sports was great to Bo Jackson.

B Jackson

Bo at his indoor sports facility

According to the article, Auburn’s 1985 Heisman Trophy winner now lives in Chicago and has his hand in many different baskets. He owns a bank, an indoor sports facility, and a food manufacturer that ranks in the top-10 of companies providing food for the military. That enterprise may stem from his true passion, gourmet cooking, which is “one thing that I do better than sports,” Jackson says.

“..[O]f course I specialize in Southern cooking, but I also dibble and dabble in Italian, Asian, and a little French cuisine.”

In 1991, after several seasons splitting time with professional baseball and football (and splitting time with Marcus Allen in the Oakland Raiders backfield), his football career was terminated.

There's a dagger in there somewhere.

There's a dagger in there somewhere.

The details are fuzzy, but basically Cincinnati Bengals linebacker Kevin Walker shoved a rusty dagger in the running back’s side during a tackle, and the weapon pierced Jackson’s hip bone. That’s the gist of it anyway. But his baseball career lasted a few more years. In the article Bo mentions that he “got spoiled” during Major League Baseball’s ’95 strike when he was able to spend quality time with his family.

“It wasn’t a case of, I couldn’t play anymore. I didn’t want to play anymore.”

We understand, Vincent. Baseball was never meant for one as beautiful as you.

1 Comment

Filed under Auburn, Bo Jackson, Don McLean, Former Players, NFL, SEC

One response to “Frameless Heads on Nameless Walls

  1. When he was healthy, Bo Jackson was the badest man alive on a football field.

Leave a Reply

